W.T. Clarke MS Students Named Winners In Young Poets Contest

1 thumbnail146751
2 thumbnail146752
3 thumbnail146753
4 thumbnail146754
Three eighth graders from W.T. Clarke Middle School in the East Meadow School District were among 12 students named winners of the Young Poets Contest. Abigail Feinstein, Arpita Raisah and Lina Resende will have their poems displayed on-site at the New York Botanical Garden and on the NYBG website.

Sponsored by the Poetry Society of America and the NYBG, the contest invited students to submit poems inspired by the winter and holiday season. Judges from the NYBG and the Poetry Society of America selected the semifinalists. From there, renowned New York poet and former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins narrowed the selection to 12 winners. 

The three East Meadow students shared their work at a reading at the NYBG on Dec. 15 for their families and the public. The district congratulates them on this impressive achievement.