EMHS Seniors Named Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

Semifinalists thumbnail168788

Brendan Connor Wilkowski and Ikshu Pandey, two graduating seniors from East Meadow High School, have been named among the 621 semifinalists in the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. The semifinalists were selected from nearly 5,600 candidates.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by executive order of the president to recognize some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

The Commission on Presidential Scholars will select the finalists, who will be announced by the U.S. Department of Education in May.