East Meadow Classes of 2017 Honored For Academic Excellence

Classes of 2017 Honored For Academic Excellence Photo thumbnail79769
Classes of 2017 Honored For Academic Excellence Photo 2 thumbnail79770
Classes of 2017 Honored For Academic Excellence Photo 3 thumbnail79771
Classes of 2017 Honored For Academic Excellence Photo 4 thumbnail79772

Members of East Meadow and W.T. Clarke high schools’ Classes of 2017 were recognized for academic excellence with special scholarships, as well as district and community awards, during two separate senior academic awards ceremonies.

W.T. Clarke High School Principal Timothy Voels welcomed parents, administrators, Board of Education members, community leaders and scholarship sponsors to acknowledge the outstanding achievements and accomplishments the seniors had made over the past four years, noting, “Tonight is a celebration of the dedication, commitment, character and integrity exhibited by the Class of 2017.” 

Prior to awarding the seniors, East Meadow High School Principal Richard Howard presented the Class of 2017 Hall of Distinction inductees. Organized by the school’s Planning and Management Team, the Hall of Distinction acknowledges exceptional East Meadow High School graduates for their accomplishments in their respective vocational fields or contributions to the community. The inaugural inductees include Randi Shubin Dresner, Class of 1978, and graduates of 1965, Jack Costello and Robert Freeman.

“Through their leadership, dedication and outstanding ability, we are pleased to celebrate these inductees’ successes and have them serve as role models for our current students,” said Howard.  

Closing the East Meadow High School ceremony, Assistant Principal Robert Hardwick congratulated the senior class for their hard work, dedication and determination during their time in the district. 

“We are extremely proud of you not only for your academic achievements, but also for your exemplary character,” Hardwick told the class. “I thank you for making our school and community a better place.” 

East Meadow High School Senior Awards


W. T. Clarke High School Senior Awards