Excellence Celebrated for Class of 2019

Excellence Emphasized for Class of 2019  	 thumbnail120924

The district celebrated the Class of 2019 Awards Ceremony at both East Meadow High School and W.T. Clarke High School with a ceremony at each building during the week of June 17.

Each school honored recipients of scholarships and awards for their excellence in academics, athletics, music, art, clubs and community service. Among the accolades distributed at both schools was the Superintendent’s Award presented by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kenneth A. Card, Jr., to deserving individuals. This year’s recipients were Jonathan Melkun and Joel Matthew of W.T. Clarke High School and East Meadow High School’s Christian Cang Cuesta.

In addition to honoring the Class of 2019, East Meadow High School also inducted a new member to the Hall of Distinction.  Principal Richard Howard welcomed alum Stephen B. Corn, MD, ’78. Dr. Corn is the founding editor-in-chief of TheAnswerPage.com. The website is a recognized leader for providing comprehensive education on the endocannabinoid system and medical cannabis, pain medicine and opioid prescribing practices. Dr. Corn and his wife, Meredith Fisher-Corn, MD, have created well over 200 continuing medical education courses in multiple areas of medicine. 

The district congratulates all of the honorees from both East Meadow High School and W.T. Clarke High School for their hard work and achievements to this point in their academic careers.