Athletic Accolades Across East Meadow

Athletic Accolades Across East Meadow photo thumbnail121462

Spring athletic teams at East Meadow High School and W.T. Clarke High School capped off a rewarding school year for the East Meadow School District’s athletic department with various team and individual honors.

The boys track and field team at East Meadow High School matched a sixth straight Conference 2 Championship title during the winter season with the same feat achieved in the spring season. Brandon Love earned All-State honors in the pole vault while Paul Choi, John Meah, Matt Owens, Nabeel Sheikh, Zach Van Houten and Bryan Villafuerta were All-County athletes throughout different events. The girls’ spring track team finished second at the conference meet with the 4x800 meter relay team qualifying for the state championship.

Jake Rosenthal led the W.T. Clarke High School boys’ spring track and field team by racing to the individual Nassau County Championship in the 200 meter dash and becoming a state qualifier. He also joined David Stewart, Sobin Ouseph and Alex Pereira on the 4x100 meter relay team that ran to a second place finish at the county championships. The W.T. Clarke girls spring track and field team also enjoy a successful season that included the 4x400 meter relay team of Juliana Vanegas, Karina Romero, Marisa Simone and Isabella Deleon qualifying for the county championship and state qualifier.

The East Meadow High School softball team captured its third straight Nassau County and Long Island Championship and went on to compete in the New York State Championship in Glen Falls. Jenna Laird, Julianna Sanzone, Amy Mallah and Amanda Thompson all earned All-County recognitions.

The W.T. Clarke High School baseball team finished the season with 24 wins including the conference and county championships. During the season, the Rams held the top ranking in the county and Long Island in addition to the third spot in the state. Chris Giardino, the Conference 2 MVP, and Brendan Turton were each named All-State selections and head coach Tom Abruscato was named the Conference 2 Coach of the Year. 

The two schools combined for 32 All-County awards and 49 All-Conference selections throughout the entire season.