Top Notes for Student-Musicians

All-State Musicians thumbnail135722
EMHS All-State thumbnail135721
WTCHS All-State thumbnail135724

Student-musicians Gabrielle Lim from W.T. Clarke High School and Joaquin Caceras from East Meadow High School were selected to participate at the All-State Winter Conference hosted by the New York State School Music Association, to be held in Rochester, New York on Dec. 5-8. Gabrielle was chosen for the violin symphony orchestra, while Joaquin was selected for viola.

In addition, W.T. Clarke High School students Maleah Cobham (Alto 2), Daniel Hong (French horn), Alvin Hsu (violin/cello), Brendan Mark (jazz tenor), Jonathan Mathai (bass 1) and Matthew Michaelis (baritone euphonium) were chosen as alternates. East Meadow High School student Abby Von Ohlen (piccolo) was also chosen as alternates for this prestigious honor.

Thousands of student-musicians auditioned for participation in the All-State Winter Conference during solo and ensemble festivals throughout the state. Students were selected based on their festival scores and judges’ recommendations.

The students were congratulated by their W.T. Clarke music teachers and directors Gregory Krajci (orchestra), Molly Ingoglia (band director) and Kaitlin Melker (choral director). East Meadow High School music chairman Steve Engle and music teachers Michael Cascardi (orchestra), Zac Robason (band) and Greg Sisco (band) were also on hand to show their support.